Spring Again

    Life is so interesting and full of unexpected twists and turns. It has been a busy 2 years. The spring after Doug died, I was a stem cell donor. An amazing experience. I was able to give another person the gift of life, a possible cure. My recipient survived for 60 days. She grafted my stem cells and began making her own bone marrow. I had a sister in this world whose name I never knew and whose face I never saw but she carried my stem cells. An amazing feeling of connection. Sadly, my recipient didn’t survive her marrow transplant and I never learned her name nor saw her face.

   The day after finishing my stem cell donation, I found a lump in my right breast. After biopsies and scans, I had a port implanted and started my chemotherapy. Ironically my first chemotherapy treatment fell on May 18, 2011, the day that Doug died one year ago. It was also the day that little Scotty, a young classmate of Sarah’s, died in a terrible accident years before. A few weeks after starting chemotherapy, we finally got to the pet scan. Stage 4! Tumors on my spine and hips. Life has been interesting ever since. A terminal diagnosis puts a different spin on everything. Especially for and about my children.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

